Should You Join in on Reels Trends as A Creative?

Artist Content Creation Support Group | Newsletter #2

Hiiiii fellow creative friends,

This week I was reflecting on if it was hypocritical for me to suggest IG Reels trends while not always participating in them myself. It sort of made me spiral, so I wanted to share my views on participating in trending content for the sake of transparency AND to help you understand how to make the most of this newsletter.

I don’t think you NEED to join in on every trend especially if it feels cringe to you. It’s sort of like when dancing and lip sync videos were the only thing TikTok was known for, it took people joining the platform and doing OTHER type of videos to expand the possibilities of the platform — and I think that applies to you as well.

Joining in on Reels or TikTok trends can really expand your reach since those videos are timely and have the potential to really travel and find the right people, but they shouldn’t necessarily the “bread & butter” of your social content. If you only share trends, then you might get a ton of views but that won’t necessarily translate to long-term loyal followers who are invested in you as a person and creative.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Content Creation Support Group for Artists to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.